SC330--Physics--Fall 2013
TTh, Period P (12:35-1:50 PM), Room
122






The Textbook


Course Description


Course Objectives


Course Policies


Grading System


Course Schedule
        

Prof. Thomas A. Easton


Photo of Professor Easton
        
OFFICE: Rm. 108

OFFICE HOURS: 11-3 PM MW, 9:30-10:30 AM TTh

OFFICE PHONE: 859-1331

HOME PHONE: 338-1074

CANCELLATION PHONE NUMBER: 859-1140

Click here to email me:


THE TEXTBOOK

Physics: Concepts and Connections, 5th edition
Art Hobson
Prentice Hall, 2010 (ISBN 978-0-321-66113-5)




Return to Menu



COURSE DESCRIPTION


This course introduces the student to concepts essential to understanding the underpinnings of modern technology. Topics include mechanics, energy, light, electricity, and magnetism, as well as an introduction to the concepts of atomic, relativity, and quantum theory.

See "Course policies" below for details on grading.


Return to Menu



COURSE OBJECTIVES


After completing this course, students will be able to: Assessment will be by means of quizzes and exams as specified below.


Return to Menu


COURSE POLICIES


Students should always read their assignments and come to class prepared to discuss and/or work on the material. Each student may be absent twice without penalty. Each additional two absences without a medical excuse (no others are acceptable) will cost the student three points on the course grade.

There will be 6 quizzes; the lowest will be dropped; the remaining 5 will count for 25% of the course grade. There will be 2 exams, each one counting 20% of the course grade. The final exam will count for 35% of the course grade. See the Course Schedule for details.


Students who plagiarize work will receive zeros for the work in question, with no makeup opportunities.

Return to Menu


GRADING SYSTEM

A (94 - 100)      A- (90 - 93)
B+ (87 - 89)     B (83 - 86)    B- (80 - 82)
C+ (77 - 79)     C (73 - 76)     C- (70 - 72)
D+ (67 - 69)     D (63 - 66)    D- (60 - 62)
F (below 60)



Return to Menu


COURSE SCHEDULE

CAUTION: COURSE SCHEDULE SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT WARNING!


DATETOPICASSIGNMENT
  
Tues Aug 27 The Way of Science and
The Scientific Revolution
Read Chapter 1
 
Thurs Aug 29 Atoms, Molecules, and Chemistry Read Chapter 2
 
Tues Sept 3 Review and Quiz #1 
 
Thurs Sept 5 Asking the Right Questions Read Chapter 3
 
Tues Sept 10 Force and MovementRead Chapter 4, pp. 71-78
 
Thurs Sept 12 Gravity and Action/Reaction Read Chapter 4, pp. 78-89
 
Tues Sept 17 Review and Quiz #2
Thurs Sept 19 Newton's UniverseRead Chapter 5
 
Tues Sept 24 Exam #1 
 
Thurs Sept 26 Energy and WorkRead Chapter 6, pp. 118-124
 
Tues Oct 1 The First Law of ThermodynamicsRead Chapter 6, pp. 124-131
 
Thurs Oct 3 The Second Law of Thermodynamics Read Chapter 7
     
Tues Oct 8 The Second Law of Thermodynamics  
     
Thurs Oct 10 Review and Quiz #3 
     
Tues Oct 15 Columbus Day Observed 
 
Thurs Oct 17 Electric Force and ElectromagnetismRead Chapter 8
 
Tues Oct 22 Waves and LightRead Chapter 9, pp. 187-201
 
Thurs Oct 24  Electromagnetic Radiation and Global WarmingRead Chapter 9, pp. 201-220
 
Tues Oct 29 Review and Quiz #4
   
Thurs Oct 31 Special Theory of RelativityRead Chapter 10
 
Tues Nov 5 Exam #2
 
Thurs Nov 7 General Theory of Relativity Read Chapter 11, pp. 248-270
 
Tues Nov 12 Quantum Theory Read Chapter 12
 
Thurs Nov 14 Review and Quiz #5 
 
Tues Nov 19 Quantum UniverseRead Chapter 13
 
Thurs Nov 21 Radioactivity Read Chapter 14
 
Tues Nov 26 Review and Quiz #6ioactivity  
     
Thurs Nov 28 Thanksgiving 
Tues Dec 3 Nuclear Fission and Fusion Read Chapter 15
     
Tues Dec 5 The Energy Challenge  Read Chapter 16
     
Mon Dec 9 FINAL EXAMS BEGIN
 
EXAM DAY FINAL EXAM
 




Return to Menu


Syllabus last modified September 10, 2013.